Alabama CPA Exam Requirements
|Education Requirements||Other Requirements|
|Hours Required for Exam:
A total of 150 semester hours or 225 quarter hours of postsecondary education, including a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university with a concentration in accounting or the substantial equivalent as determined by the Alabama Board of Accountancy.
U.S. citizen or legal resident
|Hours Required for Licensure:
Bachelor's or Master's
A minimum of 33 semester hours in accounting excluding extroductory courses
27 semester hours in business courses (other than accounting courses) in subject areas such as: economics, marketing, finance, business ethics and others.
3 semester hours in business law
Alabama is a two-tier state and has specific work experience requirements in order to obtain a permit/license to practice once candidates have passed the CPA Exam.
Alabama CPA Exam Requirements
The Certified Public Accountant certification is one of the most prestigious professional certifications available to accountants in 2013. It indicates that the accountant has satisfied a demanding set of educational, professional, and ethical standards. In addition, candidates must pass the rigorous CPA exam in order to earn the distinction of this credential.
Before candidates can sit for the exam, they must satisfy their state’s requirements and qualifications for 2013. Each state has its own set of eligibility requirements for the CPA exam, which should not be confused with licensing requirements. Below we will be discussing the requirements for the state of Alabama.
Alabama Eligibility Requirements
Unlike many other states, Alabama does not have requirements for an applicant’s state residency, but applicants must be a U.S. citizen or legal resident and must be at least 19 years of age to sit for the exam. Prospective CPA exam candidates must also be of good moral character and provide transcripts showing that they have met the following education requirements:
- A total of 150 semester hours, including a bachelor’s degree
- A minimum of 33 semester hours in accounting excluding introductory courses
- 27 semester hours in business courses excluding accounting courses
- 3 semester hours in business law
Applicants who have a master’s degree in accounting are also eligible. All credits and degrees must be from a regionally accredited university or college. Only official transcripts will be accepted.
First-Time and Retake Applicants
Alabama defines first-time applicants as those who have never taken the CPA exam in Alabama. All first-time applicants must pay a $100 application fee and applicable examination fees (see below), while retake applicants must pay a $50 re-examination application fee and applicable examination fees. All fees are nonrefundable. Please see the CPA Exam Fee section below for more information on specific exam fees.
Application Process and Required Forms, Fees, and Transcripts
Applicants are required to furnish official transcripts to the Alabama Board of Public Accountancy to prove that they meet the educational requirements to sit for the CPA exam. Applications are not considered complete until the completed application and transcripts have been received and the required fees have been paid. Application forms are available through the Alabama Board of Public Accountancy and all fees must be paid to the Board. Once the state board has approved the application, they will issue an Authorization to Test (ATT) to the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA).
Scheduling the Exam
Upon successful state application, candidates will receive a Notice to Schedule (NTS), which is valid for one testing event or six months, whichever comes first. The NTS lists the section(s) that the candidate is approved to take, as well as the deadline for testing. An examination appointment cannot be scheduled without a valid NTS. Once candidates receive their NTS, they can then contact Prometric to schedule the examination. All scheduling, rescheduling, or cancellation of testing appointments is done through Prometric.
Candidates may schedule and take each section of the CPA Exam only once during a testing window. Testing windows are as follows:
- January 1 through February 29
- April 1 through May 31
- July 1 through August 31
- October 1 through November 30
Before Scheduing your exam(s), prepare with:
- Instructor-Led Online Reviews
- Self-Directed Online Reviews
- Advanced Self-Directed Online Reviews
- Self-Directed Videos
- Self-Directed Review Text Books and E-Books
CPA Exam Fees
First-time applicants can take one or more sections of the exam at a time and must pay the following fees to the Alabama State Board of Public Accountancy at the time of application in addition to the $100 application fee:
- Auditing and Attestation (AUD): $215.00
- Business Environment and Concepts (BEC): $185.00
- Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR): $215.00
- Regulation (REG): $185.00
Retake applicants must pay both a registration fee and the specific exam fees. Exam Fees are the same as those for first-time applicants. The re-examination registration fee is $50.00
Upon completing each section of the exam, test scores will be made available online as well as mailed by the Board as soon as they are received, verified, and processed.
Preparing for the Exam
Currently, the average pass rate for any given section of the exam is about 50% which is a great indicator of the exam’s difficulty. This is where Bisk CPA Review can help. We’ve been preparing accounting professionals to pass the exam since 1971 and have successfully helped over 150,000 candidates pass. Plus, just about every accountant that has become a CPA utilized a review program. Contact us and allow us to answer your questions and be sure to ask about our Pass Guarantee and Money-Back Guarantee.