Louisiana CPA Exam Requirements
|Education Requirements||Other Requirements|
|Hours Required for Exam:
Baccalaureate Degree, including 150 semester hours of postsecondary, graduate, or postgraduate education
Louisiana resident for a minimum of 120 days within one year of initial exam date
|Hours Required for Licensure:
24 semester hours of business courses other than accounting, including at least 3 semester hours in commercial law as it affects accountancy.
An accounting concentration of 25 semester hours at the undergraduate level or 21 semester hours on the graduate level.
one full year of full-time (or 2,000 hours of part-time) qualifying work experience obtained within the last four years is required for licensure.
Louisiana CPA Exam Requirements
The Certified Public Accountant certification is one of the most prestigious professional certifications available. It indicates that the accountant has satisfied a demanding set of educational, professional, and ethical standards. In addition, candidates must pass the rigorous CPA exam in order to earn the distinction of this credential.
Before candidates can sit for the exam, they must satisfy their state’s requirements and qualifications for 2013. Each state has its own set of eligibility requirements for the CPA exam, which should not be confused with licensing requirements. Below we will be discussing the requirements for the state of Louisiana.
Louisiana Eligibility Requirements
The State Board of Certified Public Accountants of Louisiana requires applicants to be state residents for a minimum of 120 days within one year of the initial exam date. Candidates must be of good moral character and must hold at least a baccalaureate degree. They must also meet specific educational requirements as follows:
- Have 150 semester hours of college credit earned as prescribed by Board Rules.
- Successfully complete 24 undergraduate hours (or 21 hours at the graduate level) of specific accounting courses and 24 hours of business courses (including an acceptable three hours of business law exclusively covering the Uniform Commercial Code and forms of commercial transactions including the following:
- Intermediate Accounting – 6 hours undergraduate / 3 hours graduate
- Cost Accounting – 3 hours
- Income Tax Accounting – 3 hours
- Auditing – 3 hours
- Accounting electives – 9 hours
- Business courses - 24 hours (including at least 3 hours in commercial law)
First-Time and Retake Applicants
Louisiana defines first-time applicants as those who have:
- Never taken the Uniform CPA Examination as a candidate of this state
- Applied previously but whose application was denied as ineligible or incomplete
- Previously taken the examination as an applicant of another state but did not earn credit
- Previously taken the examination as an applicant of another state and wish to transfer credit to this state
- Previously taken the examination, before the 150 hour education requirement, and who have not submitted transcripts demonstrating completion of the 150 semester hour requirements
First-time applicants must submit a full and completed application, along with an application fee and applicable exam fees. Retake applicants must submit both the applicable registration fees and applicable exam fees.
Application Process and Required Forms, Fees, and Transcripts
- The State Board of Certified Public Accountants of Louisiana has engaged CPA Examination Services (CPAES) for application processing, credential evaluation, and score reporting. First-time applicants must submit the following to CPAES:
- Official transcript(s)
- Affidavit for Course Substitution and course descriptions, if applicable.
- Foreign Evaluation, if applicable (for applicants with college credits from institutions outside the U.S.)
- Signed References Form
- ADA Accomodation form, if applicable
- $130 non-refundable application fee and any applicable exam fees (please see CPA Exam Fees section for more information)
Once applicants determine that they meet the requirements to sit for the CPA exam, they can register online through CPAES. Applicants will be prompted to create an account or log in to an existing account to complete their registration. The CPAES account will allow applicants to apply for the exam, check their application status, update their information, print their Notice(s) To Schedule, and view scores. Paper applications are also available on request. Applications for testing are available year around.
Scheduling the Exam
Upon successful state application, candidates will receive a Notice to Schedule (NTS), which is valid for one testing event or six months, whichever comes first. The NTS lists the section(s) that the candidate is approved to take, as well as the deadline for testing in 2013. An examination appointment cannot be scheduled without a valid NTS. Once candidates receive their NTS, they can then contact Prometric to schedule the examination. All scheduling, rescheduling, or cancellation of testing appointments is done through Prometric.
Candidates may schedule and take each section of the CPA Exam only once during a testing window. Testing windows are as follows:
- January 1 through February 29
- April 1 through May 31
- July 1 through August 31
- October 1 through November 30
Before Scheduing your exam(s), prepare with:
- Instructor-Led Online Reviews
- Self-Directed Online Reviews
- Advanced Self-Directed Online Reviews
- Self-Directed Videos
- Self-Directed Review Text Books and E-Books
CPA Exam Fees
Candidates can take one or more sections of the exam at a time and must pay the following fees to CPAES at the time of application:
- Auditing and Attestation (AUD): $190.35
- Business Environment and Concepts (BEC): $171.25
- Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR): $190.35
- Regulation (REG): $171.25
Registration fees for retake applicants are as follows:
- 4 examination sections: $110.00
- 3 examination sections: $95.00
- 2 examination sections: $80.00
- 1 examination section: $65.00
Upon completing each section of the exam, test scores will be mailed by the Board as soon as they are received, verified, and processed. Candidates should allow three months from the date of examination for processing before contacting the Board with inquiries about scores. Scores are also available online through NASBA.
Preparing for the Exam
Currently, the average pass rate for any given section of the exam is about 50% which is a great indicator of the exam’s difficulty. This is where Bisk CPA Review can help. We’ve been preparing accounting professionals to pass the exam since 1971 and have successfully helped over 150,000 candidates pass. Plus, just about every accountant that has become a CPA utilized a review program. Contact us and allow us to answer your questions and be sure to ask about our Pass Guarantee and Money-Back Guarantee.