Nevada CPA Requirements
|Education Requirements||Other Requirements|
|Hours Required for Exam:
|Hours Required for Licensure:
$100 or $50 for retakes
In Nevada, only educational requirements are considered for eligibility. Applicants must order college transcripts to be sent to the Nevada Stte board of Accountancy directly from the institutions.
30 semester hours in accounting courses above intro level, 3 hours of business law and 24 hours in undergraduate or graduate level business. (See below)
In addition to satisfying a demanding set of educational, professional and ethical standards, candidates must pass the rigorous CPA exam in order to earn the distinction of being licensed as a CPA. Before sitting for the exam, candidates must satisfy their state’s requirements and qualifications for 2013. The requirements for the state of Nevada are discussed below.
Nevada CPA Exam Eligibility Requirements
Unlike other state boards of accountancy, the Nevada State Board of Accountancy only considers educational requirements to determine a candidate’s eligibility to sit for the CPA exam. At the time of the application, candidates must hold at least a bachelor’s degree that includes 150 semester credit hours from an accredited college or university. The 150 hours must include:
- 30 semester hours in accounting courses above the introductory level, including:
- 9 hours of Financial Accounting (Intermediate I, II, III or advanced)
- 3 hours of Cost Accounting
- 3 hours of Auditing
- 3 hours of Federal Income Tax
- 12 hours of Accounting Electives
- 3 semester hours of Business Law.
- 24 semester hours in business courses at the undergraduate or graduate level. The courses must be in areas other than accounting.
Applicants must order college transcripts to be sent to the Nevada State Board of Accountancy directly from the institutions. The application will not be considered complete until all transcripts have been received.
First-Time and Re-exam Applicants
Unlike other states, Nevada distinguishes between “initial” applicants and “re-exam” applicants. Initial applicants must submit anInitial Application for Uniform CPA Examinationsform and re-exam applicants must submit aRe-exam Application for Uniform CPA Examinationsform to the Nevada State Board of Accountancy.
An applicant is considered an initial applicant if they have never taken the CPA exam as a Nevada candidate or if they have taken the exam in a different state and either did not earn credit or wish to transfer credit to Nevada. Applicants wishing to transfer credits must complete an Authorization for Interstate Exchange of Information form. Applicants who have previously taken the CPA exam as a Nevada candidate are considered re-exam applicants.
Nevada Application Fees
The Nevada State Board of Accountancy requires all initial applicants to pay a $100 fee and all re-exam applicants to pay a $50 fee. All fees are non-refundable and payable to the Nevada State Board of Accountancy.
Scheduling the Exam
Once the Board determines that a candidate is eligible to take the exam in 2013, the Board will send an Authorization to Test (ATT) to National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA), which will send a payment coupon to the candidate. Candidates must pay all exam fees, in full, to NASBA within six months in order to receive a Notice to Schedule (NTS). The NTS is valid for six months and lists the section(s) that the candidate is approved to take, as well as the deadline for testing. An examination appointment cannot be scheduled without a valid NTS. Candidates with a valid NTS can contact Prometric to schedule their exam using information on the NTS.
Candidates may schedule and take each section of the CPA exam only once during a testing window. Testing windows are as follows:
- January 1 through February 29
- April 1 through May 31
- July 1 through August 31
- October 1 through November 30
Before Scheduing your exam(s), prepare with:
CPA Exam Fees
Candidates can take one or more sections of the exam at a time and must pay the following non-refundable and non-transferable fees to NASBA at the time of application:
- Auditing and Attestation (AUD): $195.35
- Business Environment and Concepts (BEC): $176.25
- Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR): $195.35
- Regulation (REG): $176.25
Taking the Exam and Receiving Scores
The NTS and a valid form of identification matching the name on the NTS must be presented for entry at the testing center. Applicants arriving without an NTS, or with information on their NTS that does not match their identification, will be denied permission to test. Applicants will forfeit fees and be required to reapply and pay applicable fees. Upon completing each section of the exam, candidates can obtain their scores online once NASBA has released the information.
Additional Contact information
While the requirements for taking the uniform CPA exam will vary from state to state, it is also important to keep in mind that there are other requirements for full licensure and certification. Additionally, requirements may change without written notice.
In order to confirm the most current information including testing fees, scheduling, and other related requirements for the state of Nevada, it is a wise idea to contact the Nevada State Board of Public Accountancy at 1325 Airmotive Way, Suite #220, Reno, NV 89502 or visit them on the Internet at http://www.nvaccountancy.com/cpaexaminstructions.fx.
If you still have question about Nevada's CPA Exam education requirements for 2013 or need to prepare for the exam, we can help.
Still unclear about the Nevada CPA Exam, their education requirements, or the process as a whole? Let us help. We can answer your questions and alleviate you concerns. After all, we've been helping exam candidates just like you since 1971. Since then, we've successfully helped more than 150,000 pass! Be sure to ask about our Money-Back Gurantee and Pass Guarantee.
or Request Information Below.